top of page
  • Writer's picturebabypalms

Cuban Royal Palm Tree #28 - Palm Trees of the Dougherty Garden


Scientific Name: Royatonea Regia

Common Name: Cuban Royal Palm Tree #28

I have been collecting palm tree seeds for many years. One of the first seeds that I collected was of the Cuban Royal Palm Tree. I also believe that this Cuban Royal Palm Tree was from my original palm tree seed collection. This picture was taken a few years ago and has since put out its first seed bract in the end of 2019.

This is the first collection of Cuban Royal Palm Tree Seeds that I collected from the base of the palm tree. AS I was cleaing teh bas of the Cuban Royal Palm Tree of weeds, I came across a few seeds that were purpleish in color. I looked up from the ase of the palm tree and saw that the palm tree has produced a bunch of seeds and dropped them. I was able to grab a few of the seeds and pot them up in the pot above. While I'm waiting for the pot of seeds to germinate, I'll show some pictures that I have collected over the years.

A few pots of Cuban Royal Palm Tree Seedlings in the Dougherty Garden. A few things distinguish the Cuban Royal Palm Tree from other palm trees. The actual seed is under a quarter inch and roundish in size. The actual palm tree seedling of a Cuban Royal grows very tall and stands out in your seedlings. It's actually very proud of its species and stands tall.

The Cuban Royal Palm Tree Seedling grows in size and many leaf fronds become more visible as it grows.

It was when the Cuban Royal Palm Tree got to this size, I decided to put it in the ground. I had it in a large sized pot and it was getting just too big. I decided to put it in the rear of the Dougherty Garden so that it would be in view in the landsape and not in front of our one story home. They are unique and meant to stand alone.

Cuban Royal Palm Tree YouTube Video #28

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please. let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to PayPal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

2 views0 comments
bottom of page