top of page
  • Writer's picturebabypalms

Swiss Cheese Plant #753 - Tropical Plants of the Dougherty Garden - February 20, 2020


Scientific Name: Monstera Friedrichsthallii

Common Name: Swiss Cheese Plant #753

This is a small version of the Swiss Cheese Plant where each leaf is unique. If you planted the Swiss Cheese Plant in the ground, it will set out a root system that will attach to anything in its path. Most times, it will attach to a local tree, usually a palm tree in my case, and climb up that palm tree and attach and grow upwards.

The Swiss Cheese Plant has a vining systems just like any other Philodendron or Pothos and sets out roots to attach to the palm tree. Over the course of time, it will literally climb as far as it can. I belive that the height is about ten feet.

This Swiss Cheese Plant is attached to a Solitaire Palm Tree. The Solitaire Palm Tree is on the right in the above picture. The background is a Washington Robusta Palm Tree with the old leaves dropping down. The leaves of the Swiss Cheese Plant are nestled in the seed bract for the Solitaire Palm Tree.

This is the top height of the Swiss Cheese Plant which is about ten feet. When I first planted the Swiss Cheese Plant, I wasn't aware of the fact thta it was groing up the trunk of the Solitaire Palm Tree but started toi notice thsisevearal years ago. Now, once a year, I'll see whitespathes, for lack of a better word at the moment, that is produced at the top of the Swiss Cheese Plant.

I'll attach a picture of the white bract and a proper name for the items when it appears later this year.

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to PayPal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page