top of page
  • Writer's picturebabypalms

Today in the Dougherty Garden - February 17, 2020

Just a quick look at what plants stood out today and a little about them.

Mostly a collection of Variegated Hibiscus Plants. Most are of the Variegated Hibiscus variety and a few others were from cuttings that I put next to the Variegated Hibiscus plants to track all of my Hibiscus plants that are not planted in the ground.

Just a quick thought on my Hibiscus Hedge, over the past few weeks the Hibiscus plants have been producing large flowers over the past few weeks. Prior to that, the Hibiscus Hedge was producing blooms that were not full but the latest blooms have been rather large and very pretty.

This is the Cabbage Palm Tree growing in the front yard. The Cabbage Palm Tree is the victim for every form of flying seeds and crawling plants. In the above picture, there is a wooden branch that is the main stem for a tree that is growing in the portion of the palm tree.

The bottom portion of the Cabbage Palm Tree has the Pothos plant that is growing from the bottom. It has been attached for a few years now and at some point will start to fall as it is growing faster that the Cabbage Palm Tree.

This is from a bract of Christmas Palm Tree Seeds that I retrieved with the help of my grandchildren. They helped me separate the seeds and placed them in these large pots. I'll fill this pot with some soil and add the Christmas Palm Tree Seeds and sit back and wait for the seeds to germinate.

Foxtail Palm Tree Seeds that were obtained with the help of my grandchildren when my neighbor had his workers perform some plant maintenance. They cut off all the seeds bracts in his palm trees. The largest of the selection were that of Foxtail Palm Tree Seed Bracts. They were very heavy and I had to use my pruning shears to cut off some branches from the large seed bract. This is the number of seeds that I was able to collect before they went into the recycle garbage.

Metal Hanging Baskets that I received from my son Anthony. I have to decide what type of plants and where to place them in the Dougherty Garden. Off to Lowe's Garden Center and try not to get hit by a truck like I was last year.

I just found out the correct name of this Pothos plant that is called Devil's Ivy. As you see it in the above picture, I have made about ten to twelve cuttings of the long stems and potted them up in the pots below. We'll see if I'm lucky in getting soem growth on these cuttings that I made.

The above plant is a Song of India plant that I made several cuttings from the main plant and potted them up in several pots. We'll wait and see how we did on the Song of India plants over the next few weeks and when they develop roots.

Next Video

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to PayPal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page