top of page
  • Marty, the green man

815 Purple Heart - Today's Plant in the Dougherty Garden - January 16, 2020


Scientific Name: Setcreasea pallida

Common Name: Purple Heart

Type of Plant: Ground Cover/House Plant

I have this Purple Heart planted in the rear of the Dougherty Garden as a ground cover. I initially had just one cutting that grew into a few more Purple Hearts. The original planting is now about five feet in circumference.

The Purple Heart is often confused with the Wandering Jew plant, which is also used as a House Plant. I'm very successful with plants outside the house and have a lot of difficulty growing anything for a period of time in the house. One day I may succeed.

The above plant was just a small cutting just a few years ago but now is a large ground cover plant in the rear of the Dougherty Garden.

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to PayPal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

6 views0 comments
bottom of page