top of page
  • Marty, the memory man

Yorkville Landmarks #021 - RKO Movie Theatre - May 16, 2019


Here is an old picture of the original RKO movie theatre on the NW corner of 86th Street and Lexington Avenue. I believe that was a drug store on the corner and hope someone can confirm that. This was the most popular movie house on the block.

Back in those days, there was a newspaper stand on every orner on most every block The news stand would have been next to the corner and near the sign for the drug store. When I was 15 years old, I worked for the news stand across the street and in the hallway of the Nedick's hot dog store, near the NE corner. I folded the assorted Sunday editions. I worked there until I became 16 years of age and was eligible to work at th Grand Union further east on 86th Street.

I did this job for abou a year and ran home after I finished the papes to get a snack. I sat down and watched the latest show on Zacherly and his midnite movies. Always a horror show that he would narrate and do a drop in with his face.

Enjoy the memories.

Recalling some of the memories,

Return to the following Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

4 views0 comments
bottom of page