top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Dougherty Garden - Red and Green Leafed Hibiscus Plants HI03 - April 25, 2019


Scientific Name: Hibiscus rosa-sinensis

Common Name: Red Flowering Hibiscus

Type of Plant: Flowering

This Hibiscus plant still has me a bit confused. I get the common name for the Hibiscus plant which is Hibicus rosa-sinensis. In most of my searches when I was looking for the red flowering Hibiscus, the name Hibiscus rosa-sinensis was the common scientific name that was returned.

The red flower is common for mot of these Hibiscus plants but the color of the leaves vary. So, for now, I'll leave the name as shown above. At least, I found out that the purple leafed version that I had in the Dougherty Garden was called Cranberry - deep purple. Now, I just have to find another deep purple Hibiscus plant to add to my garden.

Return to the Dougherty Garden Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

4 views0 comments
bottom of page