top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Dougherty Garden - Staghorn Fern N34 - March 9, 2019


Scientific Name: Platycerium spp

Common Name: Staghorn Fern N34

Type: Ferns

This is a very large Staghorn Fern that my oldest son, Christopher, found many, many years ago. Someone in eastern Palm Beach County had moved and was throwihg out a lot of plants in the street and my son spotted this particular one. It has since been planted, or, placed on the top of this large terra cotta plastic pot.

I have seen one hanging from a large tree many years ago at the Mounts Botanical and was impressed by the size. This particular Staghorn Fern is the same size at the moment. Presently, a lot of strange things grow in the Staghorn Fern and I have to spend a bit of time trying to remove them. I don't have a tree that is strong enough to hang this Staghorn Fern from at the moment but maybe one day a tree will grow large enough.

Return to the Dougherty Garden Index:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

4 views0 comments
bottom of page