top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Dougherty Garden - Birdnest Anthurium AN750 - February 27, 2018


Scientific Name: Anthurium Schlechtendalii

Common Name: Birdenst Anthurium AN750

Type: Tropical

This Birdnest Anthurium plant had literally grown into a large terra cotta pot. I took a small hand saw to separate the base of the plant of the Birdnest Anthurium plant from the pot. Then, I took a shovel to dig and force out the base that was still stuck in the plastic pot.

Then, I started to concentrate on the base of the root that was still attached to the Birdnest Anthurium. This is an air plant of sorts and after years of working with them, they tend to survive on their own very well.

I used a small garden hand saw and cut of more than half of the remaining root ball. I cut it at an angle and planted the Birdnest Anthurium in a hole in the ground that I had dug earlier. We'll look back in a month or so to se how it is doing.

Note: I search on the net and found that there are two Anthuriums...one with white seeds (hookeri) and one with red seeds (schlechtendalii).

Return to the Dougherty Garden Index:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

3 views0 comments
bottom of page