top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Tunera Ulmifolia with Yellow Flowers #147 - October 24, 2018


Scientific Name: Tunera ulmifolia

Common Name: Yellow Alder #147

I had these flowers in the front of the house for some time and couldn't find the name of the plant/flower. Fortunately, a person on one of my garden groups identified the plant as a Yellow Alder and told me the name. If you are looking for a plant that grows to four feet in height and width, the Tunera ulmifolia is the plant for you.

I have two of them in the front of the house down here in South Florida. Both are quasi-sheltered by palm trees but they do have quite a bit of direct sun exposure. You get these yellow flowers early in the morning snd they tend to close up by early afternoon.

The plant is a survivor plant as below most of my two plants are numerous seedlings that are growing just like the mother plant above. One would consider this plant as invasive because of the nature for the plant to multuiply in a given area.I potted up about eight to share with my son.

Growing green in the Dougherty Garden 24/7.

Future Video of the Yellow Alder

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to PayPal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

12 views0 comments
bottom of page