top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Palms of the Dougherty Garden - Solitaire Palm Tree Seeds - October 14, 2018


This is the top layer of soil that I dug up around the base of this Serenoa repens palm tree. The soil is composed of weeds, grass runners, mulch and Solitaire palm tree seeds. The little red balls are Solitaire palm tree seeds mixed in with the soil. There are three Solitaire palm trees that are growing in the area immediately above the Serenoa repens palm tree. My next step is to pile up as much soil mix as I can from around the base of the palm tree. I'll take a few plant trays that have holes in them and use them for sifting a mix of this soil.

I usually sift the soil over the area that I am working on so that the soil falls over the area that I just took the soil from. The falling soil will fill the void from where the soil used to be located. Any mulch that is sifted out of the area is returned and spread on top of the sifted soil.

The weeds are dumped in the recycle bin and the Solitaire palm tree seeds are potted up for germination over the next few months.

Growing green 24/7 in the Dougherty Garden. Enjoy,

Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page