top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Palms of the Dougherty Garden - (#59) Windowpane Palm Tree - September 26, 2018

This is the first in a series of pictures that will be covered under Palms of the Dougherty Garden. There are an abundance of palm trees that were grown in the Dougherty Garden over the years. Some are still around and planted in the ground. A few others are still in pots and quite a few have passed on because they did not survive in the Florida sun.

Scientific Name: Hyophorbe lagenicaulis

Common Name: Windowpane palm tree

The reason that I took this picture is because I just finished cleaning up the Windowpane palm tree. It was completely covered with weeds and grass and had no border. After using a shovel, I dug up all the weeds and excess grass. I removed up to six inches of soil and replaced that soil with new soil and topped it off with palm fertilizer. I finally replaced the plastic edging and topped it off with this black mulch that I got on sale. Now, we can sit back and wait to see it grow in the warm, it not hot, Florida sun.

Growing green 24/7. Enjoy,

Marty Dougherty

5 views0 comments
bottom of page