top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Yorkville Memories #011 - 81st Street Tower on East River - April 10, 2019


If you see a current picture of this area, it has been renovated and changed. For most of us from the area in 1950s, it was clearly a visual image that evokes numerous memories.

if you were walking home from John Jay Pool in the summertime, you most likely didn't use this pathway along the East River. You used York or 1st Avenue to get home form the pool. Since we are talking swimming at John Jay Pool, a lot of the older biys and the daring ones, used to go swimming in the East River. I know that the walkway on 78th Street was a frequent place for the boys to dive into the East River.

I imagine that there were some people that dived into the East River from this taller walkway. I'm sure Denny Ferado can tell us if there were some daring person that would take a dive nto the East River.

Now, here we have a picture of Gaffney making a dive into the East River from the area by the Fire Boat, a little bit up the Promenade. Great form.

Sharing a few memories. Enjoy,

Return to the following Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

136 views0 comments
bottom of page