top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Dougherty Garden - Heliconia Flowers HE55 - February 23, 2019


Scientific Name: Heliconia psittacorum

Common Name: Heliconia

Type: Flowering Plant

Here are a few Heliconia plant that I have potted up while I resdo the area of the Dougherty Garden that I am working on at the time. According to a speaker that we had at a palm society get together many years ago, the speaker stated he uses the Heliconia plant as a barometer to measure the amount of plant fertilizer in his garden. He stated that noramally if your garden had sufficient fertilzatio that the leaves on the Heliconia would be bright, dark green. If the leaves were not dark green, that you would have to add some fertilizer to your garden. Enjoy,

Return to the Dougherty Garden Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page