top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Irisha And Italiano H14 - Italian Genealogy Information - January 29, 2019


A list of genealogy information from a Facebook a few years ago. Here it is for a reference for Marty...that's me.

My Facebook Group Named:

Thank you for replying, Martin and Mikey. I believe the Iacano [with a different spelling in America] family of Cleveland is another branch of the Iacono family of Ragusa, Youngstown, New Jersey, and Argentina. Perhaps our immigrant scion, Giovanni Iacono (1882-1944), was a grand nephew to Rosario Iacono.

I've been researching in the microfilmed (and online) civil registers of Ragusa,

aiming to find direct ancestors. I have come across quite a few Iacono births and marriages who were, as yet, unrelated to my ancestors. So far, my research has just been in the late 1870s, 1880s, and 1890s.

I'll keep in touch.

Tom Kohn

I'd appreciate any names you can enter to the list below, which is what I gather from your emails and my genealogy:

GENERATION 1 [est births 1820s-1840s] Rosario Iacono and Salvatrice Nuzzarello

unknown Iacone

Giovanni Iacano

GENERATION 2 [est births 1850s-1870s] child of Rosario and Salvatrice: Giovanna Iacono (b 1869)

child of unknown Iacone: unknown Iacone

child of Giovanni Iacano: Francesco Iacano (1851-abt 1920)

GENERATION 3 [est births 1880s-1890s] children of Giovanna Iacono-[married name]: Giuseppe (OH), Emanuel (OH), Giovanni (NJ), Giovanni (priest), Rosario (Argentina), Marianna (Ragusa), Maria (Ragusa)

children of unknown Iacone: Carmelo Iacone (1880 - 1943), Salvatore, John, Rosario.

child of Francesco Iacano: Giovanni Iacano (b 1882)

GENERATION 4 [est births 1900s-1920s] children of Giuseppe or Emanuel [Giovanna's married name]: unknown Iacono

child of Carmelo Iacone: unknown Iacone

children of Giovanni Iacano and Angela Russo-Iacano: Frances, Rose, Frank, James, Giovanna, John, Joseph Sam, Gaetana

Note: Below is the Iacono family of New York City which emigrated from Ragusa, Sicily. I was able to get a picture of Carmelo (my wife's grandnfather) Iacono, John Iacono but not successfull with the other two bothers, John and Rosario Iacono.

GENERATION 5 [est births 1930s-1950s] child of unknown Iacono: Mikey DiLorenzo?

child of unknown Iacone: Marie Iacone-Dougherty

child of Rose Iacano-Derry: Charles Derry (husband to Thomas Kohn)

That's for reference and research purposes.

Check ship arrivals for the period for the names of Iacones

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

Return to: greendougherty on WIX.com

10 views0 comments
bottom of page