top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Irisha Or Italiano H33 - Delorosa Iacina (Manna) Vitrano - December 28, 2018


This is a picture of the Iacone Family when they lived on Catherine Street in Lower Manhattan. I'll call it Little Italy, as it was called back in those days. This particular post is about Grandma Vitrano.

The little girl in the picture is my wife, Maria Elaine (Iacone) Dougherty. The man behind her is her father, Dominick Iacone and immediately behind Dominick, is Grandma Vitrano. This post is a little about her.

This is Grandma Vitrano as I knew her. She had a sense of humor and loved her Great Grand Children. She lived on the Lower East Side on Avenue C. One day, she navigated from Avenue C to where we lived in Long Beach, L.I., New York. Now, that was several trains and the Long Island Rail Road and she called from the station for someone to come and pick her up so that she could see her Great Grand Children.

She would always buy somehting from those carts on the streets around where she lived for her Great Grand Children for them. Grandma Vitrano passed away in Bellevue Hospital on the east side.

Return to: greendougherty Links for Irisha And Italiano

Marty Dougherty

Return to: greendougherty's Master Links

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page