top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Palm Trees - 23 SL Alexander Palm Tree Seedlings - Dougherty Garden - November 5, 2018


Scientific Name: Ptychosperma elegans

Common Name: Alexander Palm Tree Seedling 16 SL

Type of Plant: Palm Tree

Here are two Alexander palm tree seedlings. At least I'm pretty convinced since they are an unusual size compared to Solitaire palm tree seedlings. I deal with birds that are constantly looking for seeds on the pots and have to replace the signs every so often.

The Alexander palm tree and the Solitaire palm tree are pretty close in size and resemblance and it is easy to confuse the seeds between the two. If memory serves me right, the Solitaire palm tree seed is just a bit bigger that the Alexander palm tree seed.

Both palm trees make excellent additions to your sunny landscape. The Alexander palm tree is usually planted as a singular palm tree everytime that I see one and the Solitaire palm tree is planted in groups of two, three and four in most of the landscapes that I have seen over the years. The nice thing about these two palm trees is that they are self pruning and require very little maintenance.

Return to the Dougherty Garden Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page