top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

81st Street Recap - Yorkville Memories - February 17, 2019


81st Street

81st Street was one of the street I was pretty familiar with from back in the day. I remember the Floods and Bergins from 81st Street. The Floods were into boxing and my older brother Paddy knew the Flood boys because he was bit gutsy and did a bit of PAL boxing when he was 15 years old.

The other family was the Bergins and Jimmy was the big trouble one. He had a brother called Tommy who was no problem as it related to me. There was another one called Jo Jo that I did not get along with at all. The one time I bump into him was on 1st Avenue with those stores that you could walk in the entrance and look at what was in the display without going in the store. This dipstick comes over to me and tap his cast on my head trying to scare me. I told him what to do and walked away.

Anyway, I took a girl home from a dance and she lived on 81st Street. I got to her address and we stopped to talk on her stoop and the converation came around to who lived in her building. I remember her saying the at the Flood family lived in her building. I forget if she was pretty or not but figured life would be easier if we both went our separate ways.

81st Street

Families of 81st Street

Kathy Havelka Baker 331 East 81st Street

Jeanne Darling Gallagher 450 East 81st Street

Theresa Conlin Kelly 409 East 81st Street

Karen Maldonado 419 East 81st Street

Rosemary Marino 81st Street

Debbie Casterlin Phillips 533 East 81st Street

Charlie Povermo 333 East 81st Street.

Barbara L Turek 414 East 81st Street

Michael T Sheehan 168 East 81 Street

A Few Landmarks on 81st Street

East River Staircase to Promenade

Return to the following Indexes:

Brewery Memories of Yorkville Index

Candy Stoes of Yorkville Index

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

75 views0 comments
bottom of page