top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Irisha or Italiano H11 - Where It All Began - August 28, 2019


Where It All Began

The world of Yorkville, a community on the east side of Manhattan met the world of Astoria, Queens in New York City. It was the mix of two cultures that went from 324 East 85th Street and 37-21 37th Street (?) and lived on 3406 Jordan Street in Bayside, Queens, New York City. At times, I got to visit my father at his place of work a few times 200 Madison Avenue on 36th Street. My father-in-law had a parking lot on Hester Street in Little Italy. That's where I got to meet most of the other family from Little Italy.

The meeting of all the families happened at wedding the Regency House in Jamica, Queens on October 22, 1966. However, there was the shower that was held a week or two before the wedding in Little Italy at Marbona's Restaurant. This is where all the women on both sides of the family got together to give all the gifts to the soon to be wife of Marty Dougherty, Marie(a) Iacone. In this video, which is made from pictures from the shower and the wedding, I combined all the pictures into this one video.

Outside the Precious Blood Church in Astoria, Queens, a lot families got to introduce themselves to other guests and it was surprising that quite a few people actually knew each other. My father worked at 200 Madison Avenue that housed several ladies garment fashion lines of under garments...Lovable and Maidenform. After a fashion show, all the samples were left for the building staff to take and enjoy. For the first year of our marriage, no one on both sides of the family had to buy anything. One of the fellows that worked with my father was Marie's cousin. They met outside the church. It was a small world. Enjoy.

In the first year, I slao got to spend some time at the parking lot in Little Italy. It was the early years of filming the Godfather and I was in the heart of Little Italy while this was all going on. The parking lot was across the street from an Italian Social Club and was used by my father-in-law for thier bathroom. One day I had to go and my father-in-law told me to use the club across the street. I reluctanly went across the street and enetered the club.

A few old men were playing cards at one table and just looked at me when I came in and didn't move a muscle when I went to the back to use the bathroom.I had to chuckle when I was in the bathroom because it immedciately reminded me of the scene from the Godfather of the old bathroom when Michael got the gun from behind the water box. I smiled because it looked like I was in the movie from the Godfather. Weird.

Little did I know that I was going to meet a few members of the other family over time.

Return to: greendougherty Links for Irisha And Italiano

Marty Dougherty

Return to: greendougherty's Master Links

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

7 views0 comments
bottom of page