top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Today's Plant - Climbing Orchid 502 - October 8, 2019


Climbing Pink Orchid

I receved the Climbing Pink Orchid from Ruth and her Tropical Garden. I remember the first time that I saw the Climbing Orchid. We walking through the garden and in an opening, high up in the trees, a pink flower peeked out. Ruth informed me that it was the Pink Climbing Orchids.

Over the years, this single plant has been able to reproduce into several other Climbing Orchids. I was able to get the Climbing Orchid to bloom in 2018 but have yet to get the Climbing Orchid to bloom this year. I think the constant, heavy heat and the lack of rain might have been the reason. One thing though is that the Climbing Orchid is a survivor.

Here is one of the Climbing Orchids that is still climbing palm trees in the Dougherty Garden. I initially used some string to attach the Climbing Orchid to the palm tree and in a short period of time, the Climbing Orchid's rooting system took over and started attaching itself to the palm tree. The string eventually disappeared and the roots now bind the Climbing Orchid to the palm tree.

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments
bottom of page