top of page
  • Marty, the green man

TD003 Today in the Dougherty Garden - Miraguama Palm Tree - July 26, 2019

Plant of the Day

In the above picture, I have several small pots of Touch Me Not plants. The leaves appear to be slightly larger and I did notice one pink bloom when I was taking a picture. That means that we should be expecting a few new seedlings appearing below the canopy of Touch Me Not leaves.

Scientific Name: Kentiopsis olivformis

Common Name: Miraguama Palm Tree

I took the oppportunity to make a change in the above palm tree beause it looks like it is in distress form the hot, South Florida sun. I relocated the pot and palm tree to a less sunny location, with more of a canopy above.

That I believe would help with its heavy exposure to the heat and sun. I also removed the weeds and added additional soil and palm tree fertilizer to the pot in its new protected location. I gave the palm tree a good soaking and we'll see if its condition improve and start to produce some new leaves in its new location.

Birdnest Anthurium. I spent a bit of time with this plant last week because I had to remove it from the pot to better plant it in the center of the pot. So, I had to saw off three to four inches of roots, on one side, in order to get to be in the center of the pot.

During the process, as I was placing the flat stones that will hold the large pot, I disturbed a Carpenter Ant Nest that was on the roots of the Areca Palm Tree on the right. I had the remnant of one can of ant spray and I just sprayed until the can gave out. I spent a few minutes killing as many Carpenter Ants with wings, figuring that they wre the ones that were running the nest. I did wipe out quite a few.

After I cleaned out all the weeds, I covered a good portion of the area with my my cheap mulch. As soon as every thing looks good, I placed the Birdnest Anthurium in the pot above the stones and will let it sit to see how every thing settles in this area.

My next step is to find a better solution for cutting away the numerous new shoots coming from the base of the palm tree.

Buddha Belly is the plant in the middle of this picture. It's the plant with the small, red flowers which are a bit unusual as compared to your typical flower. The Buddha Belly also has an unusal leaf shape, as you can see in the above picture.

This is the Madagascar Periwinkle, as I recently discovered the proper name for this small flower, that comes in a variety of pretty colors. The Dougherty Garden has a Madagascar Periwinkle growing all over the garden. The two colors that I have at the moment are pink and white.

At the moment, I do not have the proper scientific name for this Madgascar Tree. I'm still looking but it seems that most people that get a Madagascar Tree lacks the knowledge, or, are unaware that there are numerous trees that came and are labeled as a Madagascar Tree.

This particular Madagascar Tree that I am growing the Dougherty Garden had several white and pink flowers. I quickly gathered them up and placed them in a pot thinkin thta there were seeds within the flowers. Flowers browned out and ne seeds germinated.

During the later part of the Winter and into Spring, The Madagascar Tree put out seed pods and I was anxious to capture some of the seeds when they fell from the tree. Well, one day came amd when I looked at the Madagascar Tree, new green leaves were growing and the seed pods were wide open and I could not find any seeds on the ground below the tree.

After a week or so passed, I was walking by the area of the Madagascar Tree and noticed a few new seedlings. I initally thought hat they were young Madagscar Periwinklles, which look pretty similiar, but lacked the line in the leaf the the Periwinkle would have.

End result, they are all the Madgascar Tree and I have quite a few of them. As you can see from the picture, there are quite a few. If anyone is interested, please let me know.

This is your stabndard Philodendron plant, which is quite popular as a house plant, growing in a pot. Notice the Silk Pothos Vine below the Philodendron leaves from the plant in the rear.

Silk Pothos as it is called on the internet. I was finally able to get the proper scientific name for this plant. I was thinking that it was Philodendron plant but found out that it is called Silk Pothos.I did notice in a few of the descriptions that the word Philodendron was tossed around quite a bit. So, it seems that there is some confusion out there related to the proper name of the plant.

And finally, This is a ground cover that has been in the Dougherty Garden for many years. I do not have the common or scientific name at the moment but will eventually will find the name.

What I do know about this little ground cover is that it will cover an area and come back year after yaer. As you can see from the above picture, it is a small plant and very capable of putting out additional seeds to keep the plant growing as your ground cover.

Okay, that covers Today in the Dougherty Garden.

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

16 views0 comments
bottom of page