top of page
  • Marty, the memory man

Yorkville Faces #071 - Bray's Candy Store - May 8, 2019


Barbara and Jim Bray of Bray's Candy Store.

The Bray's Candy Store was located near the SE corner of 85th Street and 2nd Avenue. Over the years, the Bray's Candy Store was almost like a second due to the amount of time you would spend at the candy store. I used to put the empty bottles down in the cellar for Jim and Barbra in turn for some candy or a soda.

In the winter time, Jim would call a family friend in Philadelphia to see if it was snowing in Philly and we would get excited thinking that it would snow in New York City in a few hours. Other than Cozy Corner, it was the melting place and hangout for people on the block.

Right next to Bray's Candy Store was a dry cleaners, liquor store and a Chinese laundry. Dirtectly cros the street was th Cozy Corner Tavern.

Return to the following Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

27 views0 comments
bottom of page