top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Yorkville Memories - 3rd Avenue

I did a few streets and now I'll add an avenue or two to the listing. Enjoy this while it lasts. Adieu is just around the corner.

Probably one of the most famous of the Avenues in Yorkville because of all the activity thta was on this Avenue. My early memories were that of visits to my older brother's Godmother, Katie Duffy who lived on 3rd Avenue, jst a few doors away from a bar called the Manhattan Bar. That was place that we hung around in the early days of our family. I remember getting small change from the bar patrons that we would use later in the week to buy candy at Bray's Candy Store of 85th Street.

There was another bar just next to the Manhattan Bar that was called 32 something but the name escapes me at the moment. Mr's Duffy apartment was on 3rd Avenue was a favborite place to go as a little kid. I remember going to New York Hospital on the weekend to visit Mr. Duffy who was in the hospital and was dying at the time. I remember the marble steps in the lobby of New York Hospital. This is too depressing.

I'll try and add some of the names from the pages that I collected from Facebook. I'll list them below when I can find them.

3rd Avenue Families

Barbara ONeill 1608 Third Ave (90 & 91 Sts)

Jeannie Ricco Donnelly 1277 3rd Avenue

Enjoy,

Marty Dougherty

16 views0 comments
bottom of page