top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

96th Street Recap - Yorkville Memories - May 3, 2019


When I was growing up in Yorkville on 85th Street, we always knew that there were boundaries. Not the boundaries written about in the newspapers, but the boundaries that were told to you by living on the streets of Yorkville and where you could go. These boundaries were real. As a young teenager, I never went past 87th Street, which was the street where I went to grammar school at St. Joseph's School.

When I graduated to high school, I was a freshman in Cardinal Hayes High School on 91st Street. My world was beginning to open up but I never did make it up to 96th Street. When Ace Kilcullen died and they had his funeral in the upper end of Yorkville, the youth gang called the Dragons would try to cross 96th Street. It never happened.

Families of 96th Street

Add a few families

A Few Landmarks on 96th Street

Church

Sharing a few memories. Enjoy,

Marty Dougherty

Return to the following Indexes:

86th Street Memories Index

Avenues and Streets of Yorkville Index

Bars and Restaurants of Yorkville Index

Faces of Yorkville Index

Memories (Landmarks) of Yorkville Index

Schools Attended by Yorkville Students Index

Social Locations of Yorkville Index

Streets of Yorkville Index

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

Return to: greendougherty on WIX.com

32 views0 comments
bottom of page