top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Palm Trees - 39 M Mature Lady Palm Tree - Dougherty Garden - January 15, 2019


Scientific Name: Rhaphis Excelsa

Common Name: Lady Palm Tree #39 MP

Type: Mature Palm Tree

It took me many years to acquire the Lady Palm Tree and finally have one planted in the Dougherty Garden. Over the years, I have learned that it is difficult to take a cutting from this clustering palm tree. It is a very determined palm tree and etablished in the garden and sets out to take over the adjacent area, given time.

I have yet to see any seeds or flowers on the Lady Palm Tree. The Lady Palm Tree grows laterally and throws out shoots that eventually put out a new palm tree. Pne day, I'll take a try at diggimg out a section of the Lady Palm Tree and pot it up as a separate palm tree. Enjoy,

Return to the Dougherty Garden Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your nme to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: lease go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

5 views0 comments
bottom of page