top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Palm Trees - 07 M Paurotis Palm Tree - Dougherty Garden - December 31, 2018


Scientific Name: Acolorrhaphe wrightii

Common Name: Paurotis Palm Tree 07 M

Type of Plant: Palm Tree

This is my Paurotis Palm Tree that is growing in the front yard of the Dougherty Garden. It is a clustering palm tree and has yet to put out a Flower/Seed Bract.

Over the years, I have cut down the tallest of the clusters as I don't tend to want to cut off the browned out leaves as the palm tree grows taller. One needs to protect oneself while cutting old, broned out leaves from the Paurotis Palm Tree and there are an abundance of sharp points all over this palm tree.

My only concern with cutting off the tallest of the clusters is that the flower/seed bracts will only produce on the tallest palm. We'll see over time. Enjoy,

Return to the Dougherty Garden Index:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

4 views0 comments
bottom of page