top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Dougherty Garden Pictures on September 10, 2019


Tall Jamaican Coconut Palm Tree Seed that just germinated a few days before. It's the first one from the Coconut Palm Tree and it actually caught me by surprise as I was picking them up and getting ready to throw them out. So far, the other seven coconuts are still sitting there and not germinating at the moment.

I call this the Rasberry Hibiscus from the Dougherty Garden. I obtained this color many, many years ago when I was on an accounting assignment in North Palm Beach and noticed these pretty colored Hibiscus flowers. One day, I took a small cutting and the rest is history. It is the most active Hibiscus flower in the Dougherty Garden.

Pothos in all its glory. This is one of the larger leaves on the Cabbage Palm Tree in the front yard.

Bottle Palm Tree. I've been watching this Bottle Palm Tree for the last years and a half when I first noticed that a seed bract was forming on the palm tree. I waited for months as each seed bract emerged and produced a seed bract and watched as the seeds started to form and grow. It was the other day that I was coming past the first seed bract that an unusual color caught my eye and it was the first Bottle Palm Tree Seed to turn a color from the green. I just had to take a picture to capture the moment. Now, we'll have to wait to see how long it takes for these seeds to turn color and fall to the ground.

My Pink Princess is growing like crazy in the Dougherty Garden. Weh I first received the Pink Princess, it was a very small plant with just a few cuttings. Now, look at how it has gotten over the summer.

This is one of the Croton family of plants that I have been blessed with growing over the years. This one happens to be called the Mother Daughter Croton. I had originally planted it in the ground next to my Areca Palm Tree and it literally grew so fast that I decided to stop growing it and just have a small verison in this pot.

Lady Palm Tree has been in the Dougherty Garden for several years now and is very comfortable. It's growing all over the place. It has a tendency to be invasive, as I learned. Just a week ago, I took several new sections from the ground and next to the fence. All I did was get a pot of dirt and hope that they will grow some roots and hope for the best. We'll see.

The Cabbage Palm Tree in front of the Dougherty Garden is my catch all palm tree. If a seed is floating around and it happens to fly by the Cabbage Palm Tree, it will get caught and grow. Nothing surprises me anymore in growing on a Cabbage Palm Tree. Looking at the Cabbage Palm Tree is a Ficus Tree, which appears to be the most popular item that I have seen growing in Cabbage Palm Trees. I presently have a Pothos, Hare's Fern and a Phildendron plant growing on this Cabbage Palm Tree.

For lack of a proper Hibiscus name, I call this my Oscar Hibiscus because that is where I obtained a few cuttings that I still have growing

Teddy Bear Palm Tree, or, rather a Young Teddy Bear Palm Tree. I received these Teddy Palm Trees when they were young from Ruth's Tropical Garden. What I liked about them is the fuzz that is ione the base of the palm tree leaf, just like a Teddy Bear. I have one in the ground for my grand daughter, Kylie and she absolutely loves it. The brown Teddy Bear fuzz is more pronounced at the Teddy Bear Palm Tree gets bigger in size.

Marty Dougherty

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page