top of page
  • Marty, the green man

TD000 Today in the Dougherty Garden - Rasberry Hibiscus - June 29, 2019

Plant of the Day

Rasberry Hibiscus Flower in a hedge in the Dougherty Garden. The Red Rasberry Hibiscus is one of the more hardy flowers in the hedge in this area. The other colored flowers in this hedge are not as prominent this year as the heat is so intense at time that it will dry out the soil.

This is the Heliconia plant with an orange flower. I've been told that one operson uses the Heliconia in their garden to measur the effects of the proper amount of fertilizer in their garden. If the leaves are light gree, some fertilizer has to be added to the garden. If the leves are dark green, then there is sufficient amount of fertilizer in the soil.

This is your common Philodendron plant that you find all over the place in homes, it's popular as a house plant. I'm experimenting with the Philodendron growing up the base of an Areca palm tree to see how large the leaves will grow over time. I'm familiar with the Pothos palnt and how large the leaves can get and I'm anxious to see if the Philodendron will do the same.

This is one of the flowers that germinated from a seed pack that our grabnd children had planted in a pot a few weeks

Here is another version of the Euphorbia plants that I received from Ruth's Tropical Garden. I received over 15 different types of Euphorbia plants at this one time. Quite a few were planted in the Dougherty Garden and others were planted in Anthony's Garden. Over the years, a few have died and one day I'll do a post of the original Euphorbia plants that arrived in the Dougherty Garden several years ago. Coming soon.

Here is the last plant from Today in the Dougherty Garden. This is the one oddball from the Euphorbia collection because it is the only one that did not have thorns on the branches of the plant. It did have pretty round, red flowers, as is the common color of the Euphorbia plant. The plants vary is size of the flowers and all of them are called Euphorbia milii.

That covers Today in the Dougherty Garden on June 29, 2019.

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page