top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

Turnverin SC02 - Social Locations in Yorkville - January 21, 2019


Does the Turnverin building bring back some memories? I believe that the Turnverin was located on the SE corner of 85th Street and Lexington Avenue. Enjoy,

I just received an email from Dr. Joe GIovinco related to the Turnverin. Please help wih some answers. Thank you.

Dear Marty,

I don't remember ever seeing it in the 1930's...However, the construction is very much like the Centro Espanol, Centro Asturiano, and the German Club in Tampa Florida. In those buildings, the first floor was usually a cantina which converted to a ballroom on holidays. Almost always, that was where the music and dance was ethnic. The second floor was an auditorium/theatre. The top floor was a ballroom with American music. Was the Turnverein such a place ? More importantly, what was the address, please?

Joe Giovinco

Attended PS 190 and PS 30 (Yorkville Junior High). I was born in Tampa, FL in 1928.

Return to: greendougherty's Links for Yorkville

Return to: greendougherty's Master Links

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your nme to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

157 views0 comments
bottom of page