top of page
  • Marty, the green man

Palm Trees - 57 M Mature Metallic Palm Tree - Dougherty Garden - December 4, 2018


Scientific Name: Chamaedorea Metallic

Common Name: Metallic Palm Tree 57 M

Type of Plant: Palm Tree

I have the Metallic palm tree #57 in the Dougherty Garden for many years and it is located in a shady area because it is an understory palm tree. I'm hoping that the Metallic palm tree find a placed that makes it extremely happy. As of now, it produces black seeds on a regular basis but none of these seeds have germinated so far.

The one problem that I found on the Metallic palm tree is the white scale or some type of white bug that persists, year after year, under the base of the leaf. I cut away most of the base and spray with a hose to remove the scales. Unfortunately, they perists year after year. Enjoy,

Return to the Dougherty Garden Indexes:

Note: If you are the owner of any of these pictures, please let me know so that I can add your name to the credits for the picture. You can click on my name above (my email) to let me know.

Donations: Please go to Paypal.com and enter in my email address - doherty167@yahoo.com and make any donation from $1.00 and up. Thank you in advance. Marty Dougherty

7 views0 comments
bottom of page