top of page
  • Marty Dougherty

So You Served - Are You Of The Legal Age SYS033 - October 28, 2018


Are You Of The Legal Age? SYS033

This is Corrigan and if memory serves me right, James Corrigan. This is one of those special moments that a U.S. Marine enjoys while in between landings on a Navy ship. Here is James catching a few ZZZZ's.

A funny memory with James Corrigan. Every weekend, I would try to make it to New York City from North Carolina. It was a weekly thing for a Marine stationed at Camp Lejeune. On this particular weekend, I was on a return trip to Camp Lejeune and James Corrigan was picking me up in New York City with a mutual friend that as riding with him from Rhode Island, William Corbley.

On the way back to camp, James said let's stop for a quick beer in Maryland. One of us mentioned that you had to be 21 to drink in Maryland. James was the only one that was 21 and had proof. He said, let's try because I may have two other ID's that proved that he was 21 years of age. He gave me one and the other to Corbley. Then we proceeded into the bar.

We all sat down and the bartender asked what we wanted and then asked for proof. He took each one from us one at a time, looked at the document and handed it back to us. In a few minutes we were all drinking a bottle of beer. I looked at James and thanked him, and the other James to my right. We had our one beer and it was back into the night for our ride to Camp Lejeune, N.C.

Sharing a few memories of Life in the U.S. Marines. Enjoy,

Marty Dougherty

7 views0 comments
bottom of page